Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Document CAL Assignment

I am relatively new to Qlickview and have a question regarding CAL assignment as seen via the EMC.

I checked the CAL allocation/assignment for a document which was 14 CALs allocated, 1 CAL assigned.

I then started an Qlikview Accesspoint connection via IE 7.0, logged in with one of the valid logins.

I checked the CAL allocation/assignment again for the same document and of course still had 14 CALs allocated, and now 2 CALs assigned (one being the account I just logged on with) which is what I expected.

I then closed the Accesspoint IE 7.0 browser that I logged on with and checked the CAL allocation/assignment again, and it still shows 2 CALs being assigned (one being the account I just logged off) . It has now been about 30 minutes and it still shows the 2 CALs being assigned.

Can anyone explain this to me? When does the CAL become 'unassigned'? Its not that I want to use this CAL to login as some other user so its not a matter of quarantine and waiting 24 hours, I want to be able to login again as the same user and not be assigned a 2nd CAL for the same user.

Thanks,

Terry Noel

noel@tccsa.net or 330-264-6047

9 Replies
vgutkovsky
Master II
Master II

Terry,

The way QVS assigns CALs, if you have both Named User CALs and Document CALs, it will assign all the Named CALs before it assigns Document CALs. When a Named CAL is assigned, it will remain assigned to that user for 30 days unless you delete it in the QEMC. If you do not want Named CALs to be assigned to a document (i.e. so that it will only use Document CALs), you should disable dynamic CAL assignment in QEMC. Also, don't worry about getting 2 Named CALs for the same user--this is impossible.

Hope this helps,

Not applicable
Author