Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

PIVOTTABLE/SUM QUERY

Hello

I am relatively new to Qlikview and I am stuck on what i am sure is an easy problem

I currently have a Pivottable which displays the Sales Volume listed by Type and Date.

EXAMPLE

PERIOD 1 2

TYPE A 100 200

TYPE B 300 200

What i need is a 3rd Column which gives me the difference between the previous columns, so for TYPE A this would be 100, for TYPE B this would be -100

I know i need to use an expression but i can;t work it out. The date is on a group function so the data can be displayed in different forms

I hope this makes sense

thanks

4 Replies
Not applicable
Author

If the sequence of the columns doesn't change, you could use the following expression for the third column

Column(1)-Column(2)

Or just create an expression (new column) that subtracts the two expressions

(expression1) - (expression2)

Not applicable
Author

Hi

Firstly thanks for taking the time to reply and help, much appreciated

However, the Pivot table I have shows the number of orders, displayed by Type, by either Period, Week, Day etc [depending on Group]

What i would like to show is the number of orders in one column and the difference compared to the previous in the next, and then repeat this for the next , for as many columns as required.

EXAMPLE

DATE 1 2 3

NUM DIFF NUM DIFF NUM DIFF

TYPE A 100 - 50 -50 75 25

TYPE B 200 - 100 100 75 -25

What expression would i need for this?

Sorry i wasn;t overly clear in my Previous Post.

Thanks

Not applicable
Author

Ah, this looks more like you have a dimension DATE you want to pivot.

I think you want to use the Before function.

From the help:

before( [ total ] expression [ , offset [,n ]] )