Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Trying to assign licenses

Hi,

I am new to Qlikview and I have the following questions regarding licenses and availability of documents:

1. How do I make a document accessible to a user?

2. How do I assign a license to a document? If I assign a CAL license to a document, would any user be able to open it?

3. Are there any resources out there to provide more documentation on the configuration of the licenses and other server side configs?

Thanks,

Amit

6 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi

1. Documents are made available by adding documents to the root folder or mounting a folder (System > Setup >Folders). The content of these folders will displayed on the Acces Point providing the user has the right permissions.. QlikView will out of the box use windows file security to handle permissions so users will only se documents that they have at least read rights to (this can be set on folder or document level). In addition to this access can be granted or denied ny using Section Access or using QlikView Publisher to handle distribution, this will set access on file level using either windows security NTFS or by setting the server/publisher to run in DMS mode. In DMS mode QlikView will handle access to the documents and not windows. This is very  simple way of explaining it, there is a bit more to it than this but i think this might point you in the right direction.