Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Enable develop option in Access Point for Named Users

Hello everyone,

I am new to the QMC and have a couple of document CAL's and a number of Named User CAL's.

The document CAL's are divided over 3 qvw files, which works just fine. However, the Named Users that I have created via 'System - Licenses - Assigned CALs' are not able to make changes to any of the qvw's. Can anyone help me to enable this? Do I need to change settings in the qvw itself maybe?

As I understood the Named Users are able to develop via the access point (edit script, create new objects, change objects, etc.). When they make changes to the qvw, will these changes hold for everyone or only for themselves?

Thanks in advance!

9 Replies
Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

You're mistaken. Even Named CAL users cannot change the script of a QVW in the Access Point.

• All license holders can be granted permission to add Server Objects to a document in the AccessPoint. However, they cannot change what is already present in the document. Move or scale objects at most. Permissions are granted via the QMC. Look for server collaboration/server objects.
  • Named CAL holders can lease their license to a so-called QV Desktop installed on their local machine. With this QV development tool, they can open a document file (.qvw), make changes and store the file again.

That's about it.

Peter

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Peter,

Thanks for the quick reply, this clarifies a lot.

Regarding your second comment, I assume I need to check the option 'Allow License Lease' in the QMC. How does it then work for the named user to move the qvw to their local machine and make changes to it? Do you need to download it?

Lars

Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III