Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

best practice: LOAD * SQL SELECT [field1,2,3..] or LOAD [field1,2,3..] SQL SELECT *?

I am rather new to Qlikview and I'm building some report, fetching data from a ODBC database.

In the name of efficiency and diminishing the workload for servers (and also incrementing the speed of fetching data), what is the best option when just certain fields (eventually with some criteria, e.g. just date=current year) are needed?

Option A

LOAD Order,

Item,

Date

WHERE Date > 20120101;

SQL SELECT *

FROM EUrope.Orders

Option B

Load *

SQL SELECT Order, Item, Date

FROM EUrope.Orders WHERE Date > 20120101;

In words, SQL-selecting everything, and then loading what needed, or SQL-selecting what needed and loading everything (where "everything" is just equal to the SQL selection)?

Logically, I would guess that Option B is more efficient, as you are just handling, from the very beginning, what you just need. But here on QlikCommunity I see many, many scripts that are more similar to Option A...

Many thanks for helping me in shedding some light on this (elementary but, I think, critical) topic!

8 Replies
rbecher
MVP
MVP

Hi,

never use SELECT * against a database. Only use the columns you need. So, LOAD * doesn't has any (negative) effect on QlikView.

- Ralf

Astrato.io Head of R&D
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hi,

Definitely, a combination of both. Why?

A.

• Using LOAD with each field allows you to control what you are saving into the QlikView document, i.e.: how the numbers or dates will look like, creating new fields using conditionals, doing some formating and so. The WHERE will usually perform just fine.