Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Date format functions not working

Hi

I am completely new to Qlikview (using personal edition 9.00.7469.8 SR4). Busy going through the end user tutorial and there is an [Invoice Date] field loaded as well as fields where the year and month are extracted from [Invoice Date] - IE: year([Invoice Date]) as Year and month([Invoice Date]) as Month;

The problem is that the year and date function do not work on the data that is extracted from a text file as the date format is USA m/d/yy and my regional settings are yy/mm/dd. I have tried changing my regional settings to match the USA format of the data and nothing. I even try to use the date() and date#() functions but they seem to have no effect whatsoever on this field. As a result the year and month functions display 0 results / rows.

Any ideas how I can work around this ?

Here is the section of script:

LOAD
[Invoice Date],
Year([Invoice Date]) as Year,
Month([Invoice Date]) as Month,

I have tried:

date#([Invoice Date], 'yyyy-mm-dd') amongst other things

but this seems to have no effect on the output at all.

Please help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

Hi!

Do you have these variables in your script?

SET

SET

You can change "DateFormat" with the format of your dates. May be this will resolve your problem. DayNames = 'Lun;Mar;Mer;Jeu;Ven;Sam;Dim' ;

TimeFormat = 'h:mm:ss TT' ;

SET

DateFormat = 'M/D/YYYY' ;

SET

TimestampFormat = 'D/M/YYYY h:mm:ss[.fff] TT' ;

SET

MonthNames = 'Jan;Fev;Mar;Avr;Mai;Juin;Juil;Aou;Sep;Oct;Nov;Dec' ;

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi

Are you applying the Date#() function in the script?

Thy doing it from the front end (Expressions). On a specific object.

Thanks,

spsrk_84
Creator III
Creator III

Hi,