Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to use Qlikview in memory data in JavaScript Extension?

Hello,

I am quite new to Qlikview and I am struggling a bit finding a way to pull data into my JS Extension.

The application I am building the extension for is pulling data from an SQL Server DB and is stored in Qlikview memory.

How can I access that data? Would it be better if I pull it straight in my Extension from the SQL DB?

10 Replies
simondachstr
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

That certainly depends on what you want to achieve with your data. If you already have a preaggregated table in SQL Server DB which you want to display one-to-one on a web page via Java Script - just go ahead and create your webpage - you don't need QlikView for that.

If, however, you need fast in-memory aggregations on the fly and calculations which will react to filter selections e.g. - then you might use the QlikView engine to achieve that and possibly present the results in an extension object. In that case, though, I would always urge you to have a look at presenting the data in a native QlikView object. Either way, you'll need to go and implement your solution within a QlikView document hosted on a QlikView Server.

If you still think going ahead with an extension is the only way to satisfy your requirements, then have a look at the below Extension tutorials, which will show you how to access the data and display it in JS. It's not really hard to develop, but bear in mind you'll need JavaScript coding skills as opposed to basic QlikView skills.

QlikView Extension tutorials, documentation and examples - The Qlik Fix! The Qlik Fix!

jagan
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hi,

Check this thread

Extension Object Basics.doc

Regards,

Jagan.

Not applicable
Author

Hello Martin, thank you for the reply.