Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Limit a dimension to only show the last X months to date?

Hi all,

I have a bar graph that is showing actual sales compared to Budgeted sales.

I want the graph to only show the last X months to date. By this I mean in June 2015, I want to see the last 12 months up to June 2015, which is June 2014 to June 2015, even if my budget data is going up to December 2015.

I have a master calendar in which I have Year, Month and YearMonth fields I can use.

My bar graph is using YearMonth Dimension.

I thought I should use Dimension limitation by fixed number and set an expression like this : YearMonth={">$(=Max(YearMonth)-12) <=$(=Max(YearMonth))"}>}, but it didn’t work.

I digged around on post about last x months but they are mostly for QlikView while I’m using Qlik Sense.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Patrick

3 Replies
sunny_talwar

Try this:

YearMonth={">$(=MonthName(AddYears(Max(YearMonth), -1)), <= $(=MonthName(Max(YearMonth)))"}>}

here I am assuming thet YearMonth is having formated in the script using MonthName() function. If it is not, you will need to make sure that expression within the curly brackets have the same format as YearMonth.

HTH

Best,

Sunny

Not applicable
Author

Hi Sunny! Many thanks for taking time to help community. I wish I’ll be able one day to help as well…

Unfortunately, I don't understand your expression and how to use it.

First, I didn't use the Monthname() function. I used dual(Year(TempDate) & Month(TempDate), Year(TempDate) & num(Month(TempDate))) as YearMonth with Dual() function in order to sort Month by numeric value. Maybe it could be done smarter...

Anyway, I'm not sure where I should use this expression... Should I use it in the limitation area of the YearMonth dimension ? See screenshot below (sorry, French language… J)