Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Open ended periods VS Calendar

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Qlik, and I'm working on designing my data model. I've been trying to set up a model where I have a period and I'm linking this period to a master calendar table.

While I tried doing this with periods with an end date, it worked fine. However when I included open ended periods in my data set, I came across an issue. My code for creating the bridge table between the Transfers table (trans) and the Master Calendar table

// ============ Create the Transfers_Calendar ============

Trans_Calendar:

Load

FROM_DATE as Trans_DATE,

Month(FROM_DATE) as Trans_MONTH;

Load

Date(MinDate+iterno()) as FROM_DATE

While iterno() <= MaxDate - MinDate ;

Load

Min(FROM_DATE)-1 as MinDate,

max(TO_DATE) as MaxDate

Resident TRANS

;

// ============ Create the bridge table between the Transfers and the Transfers_Calendar ============

Trans_x_Dates: 

Load

TRANS_ID,

left(Date( FROM_DATE + IterNo() - 1 ),10) as Trans_DATE

Resident TRANS

While IterNo() <= TO_DATE - FROM_DATE + 1 ;

It's pretty obvious that it wont create a link when the end date is a null.

I've tried looking into a solution where I create a fictional end date (like 2099-12-31), but that increases the size of my data by a very large factor.

This is the most common scenario for me, as I use the periods to show changes in a 'Status' of a client (Active, Inactive, Frozen) and most of the periods don't have an end date.

I wanted to ask what is the best practice for handling open periods?

Thanks beforehand  

5 Replies
marcus_sommer

I don't understand what do you want to do with the bridge-table. Normally it wouldn't be needed to link a fact-table to a master-calendar. For many different date-fields you could use these approach: Canonical Date.

- Marcus