Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Grouping Data

Hi all

I have a couple of questions here i have loaded colums from a table one column is "Quote Date" the other column is "Quote No", Can any body tell me how i can group the Quote Date into months at the moment it displays like 10/08/2010, 11/08/2010, 12/08/2010 etc, so idealy i would like all the days associated with a month Just to appear as August.

Also the quote No just adds itself up aswell ie: 36704, 36705, 36706 i would like that to be displayes as just 3 quotes.

So in the Month Of August 3 Quotes were generated.

Apologise probably for this simple question but i am completely new to all of this.

Thanks

John

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

John,

First off, welcome to QlikView and our community; we're glad to have you!

The answer to your first question is the date expressions built into QlikView. For example, if you want a field which only contains the month value of the "Quote Date", use this code in your load script:

Month([Quote Date]) as Month,

For the second question...QlikView is interpreting the "Quote No" field as a number; it should be treated as text in this case. Try this code:

Text([Quote No]) as [Quote No],

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Not applicable
Author

John,

First off, welcome to QlikView and our community; we're glad to have you!

The answer to your first question is the date expressions built into QlikView. For example, if you want a field which only contains the month value of the "Quote Date", use this code in your load script:

Month([Quote Date]) as Month,

For the second question...QlikView is interpreting the "Quote No" field as a number; it should be treated as text in this case. Try this code:

Text([Quote No]) as [Quote No],

Not applicable
Author