Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Set Analysis / Aggregation - Summing While Ignoring Chart Dimensions

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I've been using QlikView for about six months and love it. However, there are times when I just can't seem to get the results I want. I've scoured the forums in an attempt to answer the question myself but couldn't find something that directly related to my issue. If there is a solution already posted I apologize and would appreciate it if someone could point me to it. So, here goes!

I've got a data set that looks something like this (I apologize for the comma-separated list, I tried to make it look prettier but ran out of width in the post):

TX_ID, Account, Service Date, Detail Type, Adj Code, Adj Category, Amount, %Charge_Flag
1, 100, 01-Jan-2010, Charge, Null, Null, 150, 1
1, 100, 01-Jan-2010, Adjustment, 1080, Charity, -50, 0
1, 100, 01-Jan-2010, Adjustment, 1041, Contractual, -30, 0

I'd like to build a pivot table chart that shows dimensions, expanded as follows:
Adjustment Category -> Adj Code -> Account -> Service Date

The expressions for each row are supposed to be like these:
Sum of total charges across the entire transaction (TX_ID)
Sum of adjustment dollars for each adjustment code

The pivot table (fully expanded) should look like this when I'm done:

Adj Category Adj Code Account Service Date Charge Adj Amount
Charity 1080 100 01-Jan-2010 $150 ($50)
Contractual 1041 100 01-Jan-2010 $150 ($30)

The problem is that I'm having a not-so-good time trying to get the charge to display on each
row of the pivot table. I don't have the original charge amount on each row of the data, otherwise
this would be easy. I figured I needed to do set analysis to get the value but that doesn't
work because the charge row is not included in the data that makes up my pivot table.