cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Incremental load

Hello,

I am new to qlikview. In my project we are doing incremental load and getting data as qvx files.

On daily basis qvx files are coming and they are coming only incremental data only, but in my script it is converting into qvd from that incremental script only. It is not appending to existing QVD with incremental data.

Inserts:

LOAD *

FROM

$(Vqvxpath)packets_inserts.qvx(qvx);

date_packets:

LOAD Max(packet_record_updated_datetime) as packets_Maxdate

Resident Inserts;

LET VDate_packets = Peek('packets_Maxdate',0,'date_packets');

DROP Table date_packets;

STORE Inserts into $(Vqvdpath)packets.QVD(qvd);

DROP Table Inserts;

Updates:

LOAD *

FROM

$(Vqvxpath)packets_updates.qvx(qvx)

Where (packet_record_updated_datetime >'$(VDate_packets)') ;

Concatenate

LOAD *

FROM

$(Vqvdpath)packets.qvd(qvd)

Where not Exists(team_key);

STORE Updates into $(Vqvdpath)packets.QVD(qvd);

Pls help on this issue.

Regards,

Kumar

19 Replies
Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Yes, it's perfectly possible to do what you want (even with separate inserts and updates). Have a look at Jonathan's suggestion below, because his script change implements what you're after. Taking into account what Jd Sreeni said, the basic mechanism is as follows:

Every day you'll have three sets of rows:

• A history file called packets.qvd. That's the complete data set created during yesterday's reload
  • An "inserts" file called packets_inserts.qvx. Those are the new records, added to the data source since our last reload
  • An "Updates" file called packets_updates.qvx. Those are the updates to existing records that have been made since our last reload.

The incremental load consists of the following steps:

• Load all inserts into memory. Let's call this table NewData.
  • Add all updates to NewData that are more recent than yesterday's history file