Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Creating a master dimension - datetime to date format

Hello everyone,

Firstly, please accept my apologies if this is something very straight forward. I am extremely new to Qlik Sense and currently working my way through the supporting videos whilst looking at some real data and applying the learnings as I go.

I am looking at some data where I have a field called Week Commencing. The format of this field is currently dd/mm/yyyy hh:mm:ss although the time aspect looks to always be set to 00:00:00.

I need to convert this field so that it is just the date represented and is therefore only dd/mm/yyyy. I was looking at using ToDate but haven't managed to get this to work.

Can anyone please advise how I can do this through creating as a master item. I have read my data in from an MS database and the script is therefore locked.

I appreciate any advice.

Many thanks

Claire

5 Replies
JonnyPoole
Employee
Employee

Hi Claire,  i would suggest doing this in the LOAD EDITOR so that you don't load excess granularity in the dashboard. Whether you do the following in the load editor or the master item dimension definition , the syntax is the same.

Lets say your datetime field is   [DateTime].

Just use:

Date(floor([DateTime]) , 'DD/MM/YYYY') 

In the script you would add an alias:

Date(floor([DateTime]) , 'DD/MM/YYYY')  as Date,

the explanation: 

- qlik interprets all dates as numbers. a whole number is a day and the decimal is the time portion

- the floor function will round down the number to a whole number effectively giving you a date without any time context

-then use the date() function to format the number in the date format you want.

gotchas:

- sometimes qlik sense can't interpret your raw data field as a date or date time without help