Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Cross Tabulation of census style data

I have "questions", "respondents" and "answers". Below is an example with 5 questions, two respondents and 8 sets of answers (yes = 1/no = 0). Is it feasible to try and get an output table that looks something like:

female? | <30? | 1
female? | >=30&<=50? | 1

(ie the total of females by age groups)? Multiply questions and respondents by ~20 000, there might be things like (urban?/rural?, state, town etc).

The script:

question:
LOAD * INLINE [
question no, question
q1, male?
q2, female?
q3, <30?
q4, >=30&<=50?
q5, >50?
];

answer:
LOAD * INLINE [
question no, respondent, answer
q1, r1, 0
q2, r1, 1
q3, r1, 1
q4, r1, 0
q5, r2, 0
q1, r2, 0
q2, r2, 1
q3, r2, 0
q4, r2, 1
q5, r2, 0
];

Thanks for any help, I am a noob so please forgive me if I am missing the completely obvious. I can structure the input in any way I like, so I could duplicate the question tables if that were to help with cross tables (for example).

Regards

Alex

5 Replies
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hello Alex,

Check this file with sample code about crosstables. IT may be helpful if your data format is similar to the inline tables I used in it. As far as I see it, any question should be a separate field with their correspondings 1 or 0, so you could accumulate them.

Hope it helps!

EDIT: You're likely to find more interesting the GENERIC load with the sample data you provided. There are some useful posts and blog entries about them in the forum as well.

Not applicable
Author

Hello Miguel

I am exploring this problem using the personal edition which means I cannot look at your sample. However I suspect that from your response that I may not be able to manipulate the questions as I would like (you say "question should be a separate field").