Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Combining Data During Load

Hello,

QlikView Novice here seeking some guidance.  I am currently creating a dashboard that is meant to make it easy for people to find potential duplicate invoices.  Originally, I thought that I would create a field during the data load that just concatenates the fields I need: Vendor Number, and Invoice Amount. Then I could just look for where that new field is the same.  I quickly realized that these fields reside in different tables. Is there an easy way for me concatenate 2 fields from 2 different tables into a new field during load? 

It may also be that my initial approach is flawed and I need to consider another way of finding potential duplicates.  The criteria for a duplicate is same invoice amount and same vendor with a similar invoice number (which I don't think QlikView has a way of finding, so I planned to leave this third criteria to human eyes scanning the dashboard)

Any guidance is appreciated.  I realize that the question is a little bit vague, but I'm pretty stuck on how I should make this. 

Thanks in advance,

Steve

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

As a simple starter approach, you can create a Straight Table with a calculated Dimension of "Vendor & Amount" and an expression like "count(InvoiceNumber)". Those with 2 or more are potential duplicates. You can further refine this with Set Analysis to show only those where Count(InvoiceNumber)>1.

You could do something similar in script. It's hard to give specific script without seeing your data model. Can you post a screenshot of your table viewer?

-Rob

View solution in original post

4 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP