Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Nested If Statements

Hi,

Does anyone know if there is a limit to the number of if statements that can be nested within an expression for a chart in Qlik Sense?  I have 19 and it works fine.  20 seems to make the expression not work, but I wanted to make sure it was a limitation and not something else that perhaps was going wrong.  I couldn't seem to find any other errors, but I am pretty new to this.

Also, if 20 is the limit, does anyone have any ideas on how to get around that limitation in the following scenario?

I have 28 options that can be selected for a variable called Metric.Name

Based on what is selected for Metric.Name, I have if statements controlling the content of a pivot table.  I need 28 if statements to control it for all the variables.  Any ideas?

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

The if-loops could be replaced with a pick(match()) approach like:

pick(

match(GetFieldSelections(Metric.Name), 'AMI 2', 'AMI 3', 'AMI 5', 'AMI 10', 'VTE 2', 'VTE 5', ....),

$(vaAMI2("*")), $(vaAMI3("*")), $(vaAMI5("*")), $(vaAMI10("*")), $(vaVTE2("*")), $(vaVTE5("*")), ...)

- Marcus

View solution in original post

9 Replies
marcus_sommer

Within qlikview there is a limit of 99 nested if-loop. I don't know if such a limit in sense is lesser. But nearly always are better (in developing, maintaining and performance) solutions possible, see here an example: Re: Substitute to nested ifs

- Marcus

JonnyPoole
Employee
Employee

I tried putting > 20 nested IFs and it works. But i think you should look at alternatives too.  Advising on which alternative would require more information .

subbareddykm
Creator II
Creator II

Hi,

We can use more thn 20.

Can you share your Expression ?

Not applicable
Author