Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Nested If Statements

Hi,

Does anyone know if there is a limit to the number of if statements that can be nested within an expression for a chart in Qlik Sense?  I have 19 and it works fine.  20 seems to make the expression not work, but I wanted to make sure it was a limitation and not something else that perhaps was going wrong.  I couldn't seem to find any other errors, but I am pretty new to this.

Also, if 20 is the limit, does anyone have any ideas on how to get around that limitation in the following scenario?

I have 28 options that can be selected for a variable called Metric.Name

Based on what is selected for Metric.Name, I have if statements controlling the content of a pivot table.  I need 28 if statements to control it for all the variables.  Any ideas?

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

The if-loops could be replaced with a pick(match()) approach like:

pick(

match(GetFieldSelections(Metric.Name), 'AMI 2', 'AMI 3', 'AMI 5', 'AMI 10', 'VTE 2', 'VTE 5', ....),

$(vaAMI2("*")), $(vaAMI3("*")), $(vaAMI5("*")), $(vaAMI10("*")), $(vaVTE2("*")), $(vaVTE5("*")), ...)

- Marcus

View solution in original post

9 Replies
marcus_sommer

Within qlikview there is a limit of 99 nested if-loop. I don't know if such a limit in sense is lesser. But nearly always are better (in developing, maintaining and performance) solutions possible, see here an example: Re: Substitute to nested ifs

- Marcus

JonnyPoole
Employee
Employee

I tried putting > 20 nested IFs and it works. But i think you should look at alternatives too.  Advising on which alternative would require more information .

subbareddykm
Creator II
Creator II

Hi,

We can use more thn 20.

Can you share your Expression ?

Not applicable
Author