Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
markmccoid
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

NPrinting - Loop and Reduce?

Hi,

I'm new to NPrinting and would like to get some best practices for our initial batch of reports.

Before NPrinting, we had a macro set up that would do a loop and reduce on a QVW creating and sending a report to each sales rep (the reduce field).

In NPrinting, I'm trying to figure out the best way to emulate this loop and reduce functionality.

My initial thought would be to import all sales reps as recipients and give them a filter of themselves (hopefully there would be an easy way to import this filter with each recipient).

Is this the best way or are there other approaches.

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable

Mark,

If your objective is to build a standard report which is distributed to many people and you want each person to receive the report with data is specific to them then your original idea is best practice.

Here's a concrete example:

You have many sales people, each of whom covers a single territory. Each sales person should receive a report, but the data in the report should be specific to their sales territory.

This is how to achieve that result

You import the sales people through a recipients import task (or build a table in your QVW with all the information - see the "recipients export" tab in the attached). Be sure to put them into a recipients "group" as part of that import.

Create a recipients import task so that you can schedule regular updates

Create a report task and add the "group" as one of the recipients. Add the report(s) to the task.

When you execute the report task, each recipient will receive the report(s) but their reports will only have the data that they are "allowed" to see as determined by the filters created during the recipient import.

NPrinting can import recipients from files (txt, excel, xml...), databases (oracle, sql server...), QVWs.