Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

(Long) Newb questions about Loose Tables & Synthetic Fields

Hey All -

I'm Russell Christopher, a long time BI practitioner. While trapped by snow I decided to give myself a holiday treat -- Learning Qlikview! I'm having a blast and have tons of questions. I don't have internet where I'm staying right now, so I (literally!) hiked down a mountain, got in my car and drove into town so I could post. I'll be back in a couple of days to see what sort of responses I get!

Questions:

Best Learning Resources?

Right now I have the QlickView Reference pdf that came with 10, a 9.0 Tutorial document, and the examples that came with 10. Are there other (free and deep) resources out there I can grab?

Loose Tables:

I'm a Microsoft guy by trade, and am therefore using the Contoso Retail DW as a sample data source. The DW is basically a snowflake schema in which some of the dimensions share lookup tables. Qlikview did not like those shared lookup tables as they created "loops". I ended up having tons of loose tables and my lists, tableboxes, and charts pretty much stopped working.

After reading up on the loose table statement I was able to selectively "target" the problem tables and keep the rest of my schema from getting too screwy.