Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

growth rates as expression in line graph with periods in horizontal axis

hi, let say I have a regular master calandar with Period as 201506,201507 and periodID, year, month, etc...

in a set analysis I can for a selection find max of the year and max of year -1, in order to evaluate a growth rate fine !

I can do it for month, YTD etc...

I STILL CAN'T MANAGE TO HAVE A GRAPH THAT SHOWS THE EXPRESSION OVER PERIODS IN HORIZONTAL AXIS

CAN YOU PLEASE HELP CAUSE I START LOOSING MY SLEEP

I attached a screenshot of what I dream of !

I Just upload a basic qvw

you will see I can't have for dimension 201505 both YTD 201405 sales and YTD 201505 (and then growth for instance)....

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sunny_talwar

Something along these lines?

Capture.PNG

YTDLY:

RangeSum(Above(Sum({$<PeriodID = {"<=$(=Max(PeriodID) - 12)"}, Year = {"$(=Max(Year) - 1)"}, Quarter = , Month = , Period = > } Sales), Count(DISTINCT TOTAL {$<PeriodID = {"<=$(=Max(PeriodID))"}, Year = {"$(=Max(Year))"}, Quarter = , Month = , Period = > } Period), RowNo()))

YTD:

RangeSum(Above(Sum({$<PeriodID = {"<=$(=Max(PeriodID))"}, Year = {"$(=Max(Year))"}, Quarter = , Month = , Period = > } Sales), 0, RowNo()))

View solution in original post

9 Replies
sunny_talwar

Can you share the data with which we can help you show how this can be done?

sunny_talwar

Try this expression for YTDLY:

Above(Sum({$<PeriodID = {"<=$(=Max(PeriodID) - 12)"}, Year = {"$(=Max(Year) - 1)"}, Quarter = , Month = , Period = > } Sales), Count(DISTINCT TOTAL {$<PeriodID = {"<=$(=Max(PeriodID))"}, Year = {"$(=Max(Year))"}, Quarter = , Month = , Period = > } Period))

Capture.PNG

Not applicable
Author

Dear Sunny, thanks very much this is rising hope.

it indeed display for a shared period label '201503' the 2015 and 2014 at month level.

could you adapt your script to have YTD (jan to march) ?