Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Beginner - how to add a new field to a report

I am a beginner to Qlik and am likely asking a very basic question here so, my apologies. 

I would like to add a new field named, "Brand" to several of our charts and/or reports in Qlik.  "Brand " is a grouping of "Products".  I already have the "Products" dimension available to my reports, but I need a field named "Brand" to be added/displayed.  For each value of product returned in a report, I would also like to display the value of "Brand". 

The list of products will be small (less than 30) and will rarely change if that makes any difference on how I can (or should) accomplish this.  With my limited knowledge-experience in Qlik, please respond as if you are talking to a 5th grader 🙂   Thanks so much!

ProductBrand
Product 1Brand 1
Product 2Brand 1
Product 3Brand 1
Product 4Brand 1
Product 5Brand 2
Product 6Brand 2
Product 7Brand 2
7 Replies
sunny_talwar

I suggest looking into Mapping Load and Apply Map functions: http://www.learnqlickview.com/a-qlikview-tutorial-mapping-load-in-qlikview/

johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Simplest, at least to describe, might be an inline load of the brand data.

[Brands]:
LOAD * INLINE [
Brand, Product
Brand 1, Product 1
Brand 1, Product 2
Brand 1, Product 3
Brand 1, Product 4
Brand 2, Product 5
Brand 2, Product 6
Brand 2, Product 7
];

Then just put Brand in your chart, and QlikView will handle the rest.