Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kfloresc
Contributor II
Contributor II

How to display only the most recent data for a table based on another table value

Hello everyone, I am rather new to Qlik Sense, I'll try to be clear in what I'm trying to do.

I have loaded a set of data from one table in the data load editor, however this set of data is missing some tables. I have been given access to another data source which contain the information I need and loaded this in the data load editor. The problem I have now it that this new data set has data for every single time the data was modified. Here's an example, lets say I need programX, in the first dataset programX exists with one entry, but is missing corresponding values for programY. The new dataset I loaded has programX and programY, but for dozens of timestamp entries. I need a way to only select the most recent.

In the Sheet section I have created a table with programX as a column and programY as another column. I now have dozens of rows and only need one. I found a table called programZ which has timestamps which I am trying to use to filter our and select only the most updated.

I can't figure out how to do this, I've tried firstsortedvalue, max(programZ). Please help lol

Labels (1)
3 Replies
edwin
Master II
Master II

seeing the data would be helpful.  even a small subset with all the X, Y, and Zs.

off hand, if you only need the latest values for a specific dimension, you can aggregate the table programY in load script, max(date) group by the dimension.  then inner join this (you have dimension + date as keys) to itself (programY).  anything that matches is the latest date, then add a flag and use that flag in your expression.

kfloresc
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

okay, I'm not allowed to share specifics but I'll substitute values out.

Data Load editor View:

lib connect to 'database 1';

Load program1,