Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to get the value of a variable with a widget?

Hello everybody,

I want to create a widget which gets and sets the value of a variable by using a drop-down list in Qlik Sense.

I could realize a drop-down list which sets a variable by using the setContent method from the Variable API. However, I have a problem with getting the value of a variable since the appropriate methods from the Variable API use a callback function. Is there a possibility to realize such a widget?

I am new to Qlik Sense development and I have some basic knowledge in AngularJS.

Thanks a lot in advance for your responses.

Kind regards,

Leon

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

@Stefan: Thank you for your response! I am looking forward to the new version of Qlik Sense.

Such a widget can also be developed using Qlik Sense 3.0. I developed the widget using the following method.

To set the value of a variable, use a html button with ng-click="app.variable.setContent('MYVAR','1');".

To get the value of a variable, create an input field in the properties (e.g. named myvar) of the widget and type there =$(MYVAR). You can use this value by referencing settings.myvar.

This works if the variable has a nummeric value.

Here is an example:

<div>

<select ng-model="selectVal" ng-init="opt=settings.selVarValue" ng-change="app.variable.setContent(settings.selVarName, selectVal);" class="lui-select">

<option ng-selected="opt==1" value="1">{{settings.optLabel1}}</option>

<option ng-selected="opt==2" value="2">{{settings.optLabel2}}</option>

<option ng-selected="opt==3" value="3">{{settings.optLabel3}}</option>

</select>

</div>

View solution in original post

5 Replies
1000qlik
Partner - Contributor III
Partner - Contributor III

Hi Leon,