Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dadumas
Creator II
Creator II

Master Item measure Colors based on fixed numeric ranges (Visual clues in QV)

I have a master item measure: [Sum of Margin].  I want it to display green when positive, and red when negative.  I used do this at the chart level in QV with visual cues, and setting numeric ranges.

It looks like the master item measure colors tab might do this, but I have tried adding and setting "limits', and cannot get this to do anything.  Seems like it should be pretty simple, but the UI for this is not so intuitive for my feeble mind 😞

Dave

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi @dadumas 

That makes more sense! You are asking about a table, and I had assumed it was a chart.

You need to write code to get colour in your table, and you sadly can't use the Master Measure colours. You need to use the colour expression boxes that you have found in your screenshot.

You can colour either the background or the text, to do it for the text you would have something like:

=if(sum(Value) < 0, rgb(200,0,0), rgb(0,200,0))

If you were looking to do it for the background you would want more pastel shades.

If you want to have gradiated colours you need to look up how to use the ColorMix1 and ColorMix2 functions, but they are not neccessary for a simple +/- colouring.

Hope that helps,

Steve

View solution in original post

5 Replies
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi @dadumas