cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aryaneski_
Contributor
Contributor

help in YoY growth calculation

Hello all, I am a newbie and could not make anything out of the answers in previous questions. Im not so sure what I'm doing wrong but basically I want to have a column computing the YoY growth of X values found in column X. (e.g january 2023 versus january 2022, 2022.Q1 versus 2021.Q1).

I tried the -Before() function and tried sums/counts  but could not make it work. Could you help me out? Thanks!

Date: Ref_Date.Year ; Ref_Date.Month ; Ref_Date.Quarter
X and Y are (count (distinct X)) and (Count (distinct Y))

aryaneski__0-1684163801713.png

Labels (1)
5 Replies
deepanshuSh
Creator III
Creator III

Hi, Could you clarify more on your requirement, as what do you mean by comparison, because if you just want to do know the changes between last year to current year, you can just do it by 

(count (distinct X))/ (Count (distinct Y)) -1

Trial and error is the key to get unexpected results.
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi @aryaneski_ 

What you want to do is to remove the Year as a dimension and then apply that using Set Analysis in different measures.

If you wanted to fix to current calendar year vs prior you could do this for the current year measure:

sum({<Year={$(=year(today()))}>}Value)

And then this for the prior year measure:

sum({<Year={$(=year(today())-1)}>}Value)

You could then add a further expression for the variance:

(sum({<Year={$(=year(today()))}>}Value) - sum({<Year={$(=year(today())-1)}>}Value)) / sum({<Year={$(=year(today())-1)}>}Value)

I have done a blog post on Prior Period Comparison which goes into a lot more detail of what you can do, and has an example app you can download to see it working:

https://www.quickintelligence.co.uk/prior-period-comparison/

Hope that helps.

Steve

aryaneski_
Contributor
Contributor
Author