Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kathysun
Contributor II
Contributor II

Qlik Catalog Data Load Record Limit

Hi all,

I'm quite new with Qlik catalog and currently is exploring methods to limit record count for registered entities data load.

In my understanding registered entities only load a sample of the data. Can anyone clarify how does Qlik Catalog define how much data the tool will ingest during data load? and is it possible to set/limit the amount for data load by the admin?

Thank you.

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Christopher_Ortega

Hi Kathy,

Thanks for your explanation of your use case. I'd like to clarify one thing you've mentioned a couple of times. The sample is independent of the profile. The profile is generated off whatever data is loaded. Concurrently a sample is retained for Catalog users. These are independent - the profile doesn't depend on the sample.

Let's take your example of a table with 500 million rows. With no changes, all 500 million rows will be brought into the Catalog for the purposes of profiling and in so doing is also sampled. The profile is on the full data set and a sample of 1% (by default) is retained - so, in this case your sample would be 5 million rows. The data used to profile (500 million rows) is removed. This leaves you with a fully representative profile and a sample data set for viewing/use within the Catalog. Again, to clarify the profile is on everything returned by the query in the property src.file.glob.

If you are concerned that even a 1% sample is too much to retain, as I agree 5 million records is still quite a lot, you can configure this.

There is a property that you can set on the entity called record.sampling.probability. By default this is 0.01. You can however set it lower if you'd like. Let's say that I only wanted to retain a sample around 50,000 records. I might then set the property to 0.0001 to achieve this.