Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Blunck-TotalFitouts
Contributor III
Contributor III

Restful API help - complete novice!

Hi everyone 🙂

I am need of some assistance setting up a restful API to our companies job management software, SimPro.

Here is there doco page - https://developer.simprogroup.com/apidoc/?page=57be307ee1bd93b729fdc4c13f15e201

I have attempted, for days now, literally, trying to make a restful API connection to SimPro using the wizard in QlikSense.  But I have failed, too many times to count!

Can someone help me out?

Thanks in advance!

Carl

Labels (1)
7 Replies
Mehrnaz
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Carl,

I am not familiar with SimPro. I am pretty new too, but I have created  a couple API  connections in my app successfully. Some simple ones with key and some that required Bearer tokens.

Looking at your API documentations, I see that you need the followings to be added:

Authorization                   you have to check the documentations to see what goes here

Content-Type                   application/json

In one of my POST connections, I have added them under "Query headers" section.

The documentation page seems to have a lot of useful content. It is worth to go through examples in there.

Just a couple things that comes to my mind:

Are you prefixing the following before the endpoint url (<client> should be replaced with the name of whatever server they assigned to your company):

https://<client>.simprosuite.com/api/

Pay attention to the type of call (POST vs GET) If it's a post, you might need to add a body.

When you say "it doesn't work", what exactly doesn't work? I would suggest you try to hit the endpoint using "Postman". If successful, then the endpoint with your key works fine and you just have to fiddle with your script/wizard.