Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Wu's News - Operating Room Efficiency

Howdy folks!  My name's Jeff Wu, and I'm a Solutions Architect here at QlikTech.  I joined QlikTech back in June of 2012 and prior to that was at Epic for six years serving as the Senior Application Director for the OpTime and Anesthesia applications.

Since joining I've gotten an opportunity to see what a lot of customers are doing with Qlikview and it has sparked my passion for better healthcare delivery and a desire to share my experiences in healthcare with others.

Today I'd like to talk about my favorite place in the hospital…

The Operating Room.

Go to sleep.jpg

You're getting sleepy...

In my years as an implementer, I've gone live with Epic at over 50 individual hospitals; there really is no place like the ORs. With the ED a close second, there is no place in the hospital that is more critical to have operational efficiency from start to finish. According to a recent HIMSS article, the ORs are responsible for up to 60% of a hospital's revenue. On that note, the ORs can also account for more than 60% of a hospital's margin. This means that the most minor of problems in this area can have monumental effects on a hospital's operational effectiveness. First Case Late Starts, Delays, Add-on Cases, PACU time, patient transfers, etc. can all have very negative repercussions if not addressed in a timely fashion.

Take for example, the effect of one situation: