Qlik Community

Knowledge

Search or browse our knowledge base to find answers to your questions ranging from account questions to troubleshooting error messages. The content is curated and updated by our global Support team

Announcements
See why Qlik was recognized for the seventh year in a row – and discover how we can help you tackle your data integration challenges. Get the report

How to Share Bookmarks in Qlik Sense

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sonja_Bauernfeind
Digital Support
Digital Support

How to Share Bookmarks in Qlik Sense

Attachments

Qlik Sense April 2020 introduced the option to share published bookmarks directly from a Qlik Sense app.

Previous versions from February 2019 require the addition of a share button to generate a link that acts similar to a bookmark. The share button is included in the Dashboard bundle. Versions prior to February 2019 did not have a sharing feature built-in.

 

Requirements:

  • April 2020 or later
  • The user receiving the bookmark needs to already have access to the Qlik Sense App

 

Create the Bookmark

  1. Create a bookmark. The bookmark menu can be located in the top right corner of the Qlik Sense app overview. 

    bookmark01.png

  2. Create and save the bookmark
  3. Navigate back to the bookmark menu.
  4. Right-click the bookmark that you wish to share.
  5. Select Publish

    bookmark02.png
You can also click Copy link - this will show a warning that the bookmark needs to be published. When confirming the warning, the bookmark will be automatically published. 

Share the Bookmark

  1.  Right-click the bookmark again.
  2. Select Copy link   

    bookmark03.png

  3. Share the link with anyone who has access to the application. 


 

 

Older versions: Qlik Sense February 2019 to February 2020

 

Please see the process as referenced on Help.com > Visualizations > Dashboard Bundle > Share-button

NOTE: Application must be published in a stream that all interested parties are able to see. Please note that this button functionality is removed with the August 2021 release.

  1. Open app
  2. Edit the app
  3. Go to custom objects
  4. Add the shared button object
    1. May select either option of your choice:
             > Copy to Clipboard
             > A textbox
  5. Select "Done" ( to exit out of edit mode)
  6. Now select one of the app's bookmarks
  7. Go to the shared button, and this will a link
  8. Email / Message this link to the end-user.
  9. End-User receives it :
    1. Click on it or copy-paste in on a browser
    2. All the bookmark select will show selected now
  10. Once all the selection show.
  11. End-user can go bookmarks
    1. Save as a bookmark
  12. Now technically end-user carries the same bookmark/select as the original sender with its own bookmark. 

 

If the share option is not available, verify that Sense has not been set up with Security Rules that disallow sharing. See the attached document for details.

 

Labels (3)
Comments
Huiying
Partner - Creator III
Partner - Creator III

Hi Sonja
Great article, thank you!
Just curious, as bookmark needs to be published before sharing, I guess the bookmark will stay as community bookmark forever? if there are lots of them with big amount of data, will that cause any issue during app opening?
How about after migration? If we import binary file to a new cluster, I guess we loose the state of community bookmarks?

Best regards,
Susan

Sonja_Bauernfeind
Digital Support
Digital Support

@Huiying Let me get an answer for you! 🙂

Sonja_Bauernfeind
Digital Support
Digital Support

Hello again,  @Huiying 

I've spoken to one of our SMEs who appears to already be working on this with you in a support case. 

Here's a quick summary from him (based on your questions):

Just curious, as bookmark needs to be published before sharing, I guess the bookmark will stay as community bookmark forever?

Yes, unless you unpublish it. You can unpublish it from the Hub.
 
Unpublish Bookmark.png
 
If there are lots of them with big amount of data, will that cause any issue during app opening?
 
Yes, there are operations done towards bookmarks during app opening. The more the user has bookmarks he has access to, the longer it will take to open.

How about after migration? If we import binary file to a new cluster, I guess we lose the state of community bookmarks?
 
Yes, you would need to unapprove/unpublish the bookmarks with APIs and reassign ownership.
Huiying
Partner - Creator III
Partner - Creator III

Thank you Sonja! 🙂

Patrick_Kull
Contributor
Contributor

Dear Sonia

Thank you very much for this very useful article. I'm looking for an option to share within Qlik Sense. However, in our system the option publish is not available. Can this be configured? Could you please help

Best regards,

Patrick

Sonja_Bauernfeind
Digital Support
Digital Support

Hello @Patrick_Kull 

Are you on a Sense version that supports this feature? And if so, have you created any custom security rules? These might have removed user's access to publish bookmarks. 

Nareshgp
Contributor
Contributor

Dear, Sonia,

Thanks for the article, I just wanted know below things.

1. What would happen, if creator of the community bookmark has left the organization ?

2. where the bookmarks can be saved in QMC?

 

 

Thanks in advance

Sonja_Bauernfeind
Digital Support
Digital Support

@Nareshgp 

Please post your question in our active forums to make use of our active user base and the support engineers monitoring our forums. 

The correct forum is: Deployment and Management.

TaMahdi
Contributor II
Contributor II

Hello @Sonja_Bauernfeind  thanks for the article.

Users in published apps don't have 'Copy link' in the list, is it related to security roles?

Sonja_Bauernfeind
Digital Support
Digital Support

Hello @TaMahdi 

I believe this may require additional troubleshooting that we cannot provide in this article. Please post about the issue in Qlik Sense Deployment and Management to make use of our active community.

Though, yes, bookmarks can be restricted based on Security Rules. If you can verify that a user with elevated rules is able to share bookmarks, you have verified that a security rule is at fault, in which case you will need to enable/disable what you have customized to locate the faulty rule.

All the best,
Sonja 

Version history
Last update:
‎2021-09-16 07:27 AM
Updated by:
Contributors