cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CantGetItToQlik
Contributor II
Contributor II

2 Variables to Filter Same Dimension

Hello. I am new to Qlik Sense but have developed in other dashboard tools. I have 2 variables that are set by making a selection from a dropdown list. I want to use these 2 values to filter a dimension in a table to compare the data for 2 different units - members of the same dimension. How do I accomplish this  in Qlik? If user selects Unit A and Unit D, how do I display only those 2 units in the table? Thanks in advance.

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

My suggestion is to use the set in the measure rather than the dimension. The measure would look like (warning not syntax checked):

sum({<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>} Cost * Qty)

If you were going to create a calculated dimension, the dimension expression would be:

=aggr(only({<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>} Unit), Unit)

If it's not working, please post the full text of your expression or dimension. 

-Rob

View solution in original post

6 Replies
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

I'm confirming that you do mean actual variables, not fields.  And that you have a field named "Unit" for example. 

If my understanding is correct, you could reference the variables in a set expression in your chart.  The set expression would be: 

{<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>}

Then you would use that set in a measure or a calculated dimension. For example, if your chart Dimension was "Unit" and you wanted to count the "Event" field associated with each Unit your measure would be:

Count({<Unit={'$(var1)','$(var2)'}>} Event)

-Rob
http://masterssummit.com
http://qlikviewcookbook.com
http://www.easyqlik.com

CantGetItToQlik
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

Thank you for the reply. I am not sure I am getting this to work. Here is what I am attempting to do:

Capture.PNG