cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Basic Data Modeling Issue

I am new to Object Modeling and have an issue i need advice on:

I have a list of Contacts in my object model stored in a Contact Table (ContactId, Name, Birthday).

I want to use a reference to the contactId in many other areas of the object model

- I have a table that holds Accounts (AccountId, Name)

- I have  table that holds Assets (AssetId, Name, Value)

- Accounts have Shareholders that are Contacts(ContactId)

- Assets are by owned by one or many Accounts (AccountId)  or  one or many Contacts (ContactId)

- Assets are managed one Management Company

- A Management Company can be managed by one or many Contacts (ContactId)

In my QLik Dashboard, I ultimately want to be able to consolidate when i select a contact , what assets they own directly or via  one or many accounts and what they manage via a Management company.

I am in the process of drawing this in Excel and am here:

- I created a contact Table (ContactID, Contact Name, Birthday)

- I created an Asset Table (AssetID, Asset Name, Value, MgtCoID)

- I created an Account Table (AccountID, Account Name) and an AccountAssetOwnership Mapping Table (AccountID, AssetID, Ownership%) . In order to reflect that individuals can own an asset, I  created "individual" accounts for each individual. There can be more than one account co-owning the same asset.

- I created an AccountContactMapping Table (ContactID, AccountID). A contact can own multiple Accounts (eg their own indivisual account and they sharehold of a company account)

With this i can get to what every contact owns directly or via an account.

How do i add my management company manager link ? I am getting stuck.

- I created a table to store all management companies (MgtCoID, Management Company Name)

- If i add a MgtCompany Manager Mapping Table (MgtCoID, ContactID) then I create a circular reference