Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
skilloran
Contributor II
Contributor II

Conditional Statement in Data Load Editor

Hello,

I am new to Qlik and have been having some issues figuring this out.

One of the tables I am loading contains 1 field called FactType that the contents need to be broken into two parts for how I need my visualizations to look. Which of the 2 it defaults to depends on another fields contents

I am trying to create an IF statement that says along the lines of: IF field1 contains 'A', then field2 =  'ABC'  and IF field1 contains 'B',  then field2 = 'CBA'

Everything I have been trying keeps resulting in the error of "Field2 Not Found"

Script below:

NodeName as Desk,
floor(BusinessDate) as %CDATE,
Value,
ValueType,
'IR01' as FactType,
 if(ValueType LIKE 'IR01', FactType = 'IR01'), 
 if(ValueType LIKE 'MV', FactType = 'Market Value')
'A' as Table
FROM database
(qvd)
where exists(Desk,NodeName);

11 Replies
sunny_talwar

Try this

NodeName as Desk,
floor(BusinessDate) as %CDATE,
Value,
ValueType,
If(ValueType LIKE 'IR01', 'IR01'),
If(ValueType LIKE 'MV', 'Market Value')) as FactType,
'A' as Table
FROM database (qvd)
where exists(Desk,NodeName);
skilloran
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

So this no longer produced the error of Field Name Not Found, however in my Pivot Table that I am using, it doesn't show the two values IR01 and Market Value

For further context, I have 3 files, 2 of them only contain one type of data attribute (what I am calling FactTypes) like CR01 or Vega, the 3rd file however contains two FactTypes, IR01 and Market Value. By loading the 3 files seperately and concatenating the tables, using 'CR01' as FactType in the load statement for the one file, and 'Vega' as FactType in the load statement for the second file, in my pivot table it splits it up like headers for the data points associated with them.

Using the above script no longer associates a name with FactType in the first file.