cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Creating custom associations

Hello,

I am new to Qlik Sense.

Could anyone guide me as to how I can create my own association instead of using Qlik's analyzing engine?

I cannot figure out a way to create my own association.

Thanks,

SS.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

Associations will be made with the fieldnames. That meant you need to change the fieldnames if you want to create an association or to break one in the following manner:

OldName as NewName

Further helpful wille be: Get started with developing qlik datamodels.

- Marcus

View solution in original post

8 Replies
marcus_sommer

Associations will be made with the fieldnames. That meant you need to change the fieldnames if you want to create an association or to break one in the following manner:

OldName as NewName

- Marcus

Not applicable
Author

Hi Marcus,

That is what I figured and I did change the names accordingly.

This is a snippet of the data model. See the last columns in each of the table named as "Date", although they are prefixed with the table name. Capture.PNG

What I was trying to understand is, is there no way that I can choose my own associations rather than taking Qlik's associative engine's recommendations?

P.S: I think I am intelligent enough to figure out the associations I need.

Marcus Sommer <span class="icon-status-icon icon-mvp" title="Mvp"></span> wrote:

OldName as NewName

- Marcus

Not applicable
Author

Figured it out. I just had to remove the Table name which was prefixed.

Thanks Marcus. I marked your answer as correct answer.

I was trying to achieve the Billed table & the receipts table to be connected to my calendar master table so I can use the master Calender table as my dimension.

This is what I got after changing the script from Data Editor. Does this look right to you?

Testing on it.

Capture.PNG

marcus_sommer