Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
demarest
Contributor III
Contributor III

Cumulative binomial distribution in equation editor

Hi, I am new to Qlik Sense and was not able to figure out how to calculate cumulative binomial distribution in the equation editor.  I would like to have this value in a table.

Qlik sense does not have discrete binomial distribution function either, but that can be calculated using existing functions as per below:

combin(n,x)*pow(0.05,x)*pow(0.95,n-x)

n and x are integers representing the number of observations and the number of statistical test exceedences at a 95% confidence interval.  The above formula works for discrete outcomes, for example, the probability of having exactly 5 out of 100 results be exceedences (n=100 and x=5 plugged into above), however, what I want is the cumulative probability of 5 or fewer exceedences, which would be the above with (n=100, x=0) + (n=100, x=1) + ... + (n=100, x=5).  It would seem like this could be achieved with a loop, but this does not seem to be available in the editor or an ability to create it in a custom function, something like:

cbd = 0

for i= 0 to x

cbd = cbd + combin(n,i)*pow(0.05,i)*pow(0.95,n-i)

next i

Any help with this would be appreciated

17 Replies
demarest
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Hi Stefan,

Thanks for the suggestion, it looked promising and works fine until I try to replace one of the parameters in the ValueLoop function with a variable (then I get "Error in expression").  The idea here is that the number of exceedences and the number of observations can change from query to query or fund to fund.  I consulted the docs on ValueLoop and did not see anything about whether or not it can take a variable, but when I try it does not seem to be allowed.