Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RogerPenna
Contributor
Contributor

Database stress by having different Qlik Apps using same database?

I am new to Qlik and Bi and databases in general. 

But I know many BI systems will need the so called Data Warehouses, where as I understand, you will do an transform and loading of several different databases from your company into a 2nd database, designed specially to be analyzed by the BI system.

That way, you only do the loading of each of your systems database a single time, and the BI will only connect to that Data Warehouse, not stressing anymore the main database of each system. 

Is that correct?

I also hear Qlik works a little different, connecting directly to each database, and it's "data warehouse" is the App file (.QVF), right?

But let's say my company has 4 QLik Sense Desktops installed. Each of them has the same "shared" (sent through email) Qlik App, plus different apps in each desktop. But all of them connecting to the same ERP and BPM databases.

Won´t the load on the databases be TOO big? Every app connecting and requesting "selects" from those 2 databases?

6 Replies
dplr-rn
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

Read up on 3 tier architecture and qvds.
Basically there are 3 type of Qlik apps
Extract - direct simple query to do and save as qvds
Transform -use qvds to transform and combine data as you need. Store results into other qvds
load - load the transformed qvds into your main app which will have visualization s

Basically the concept is hit database only in the extract layer and reuse it.
There s a lot more benefits to such an approach and typically recommended approach for most big Qlik deployment s

Forgive typos - using my phone
RogerPenna
Contributor
Contributor
Author

I am not sure I follow you.