Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Saryk
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

Date exhaustivity when filtering data

Hello,

I'm following up on these threads which give no answer to the same recurring problem :

https://community.qlik.com/t5/QlikView-App-Development/Master-Calendar-enables-all-dates-to-display-...

https://community.qlik.com/t5/Qlik-Sense-App-Development/problem-with-master-calendar-and-filtered-d...

and most importantly, this one (by me) : https://community.qlik.com/t5/New-to-Qlik-Sense/Keep-exhaustive-date-data-through-filter/m-p/1681434...

Is there a way to force all date data (as dimension) to show in a graph, regardless of filters, without creating 0-values for every possible scenario which would (1) increase load times drastically and (2) fill memory with useless data ? I have a master calendat that does that without filters, but as soon as a filter is applied, days, weeks or even months disappear.

I really need an answer to this.

Cheers !

Labels (1)
5 Replies
Saryk
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II
Author

In other words, Qlik Sense has data, null and no-data which are 3 different things.

When applying a filter, the data is removed. It does not exist, it's not null, it is no-data. Is there any way to force Qlik to fill filtered-out parameters with either data that is 0, or null ?

Saryk
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II
Author

Anyone ?

marcus_sommer

In some cases you could bypass this intentionally designed behaviour with the use of set analysis which ignored certain selections or overwrite it, for example with something like: sum({1 < Field1 = >} TOTAL Field2). Another method is to apply a default-value if there is none expression-result - this could be tried with: alt(Expression, 0) or maybe rangesum(Expression, 0.00000000001) or similar. A further approach might be to include additionally expressions which have always a result, for example: = 1.