cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Date filters

Hi,

I'm very new to Qlik Sense  (I'm using Qlik Sense Desktop)

I have data with Dates columns with the format of dd/m/yyyy hh:mm (e.g. 23/1/2016 23:25)

Is there a way with not much scripting to add filters on this column that will show only -" Today's data", "This week's data", "This year's data" ?

I was searching the community and saw some syntax that should be relevant but couldn't incorporate it successfully .

I tried to add a filter object with the syntax =[my date column] =Date(Today()-30)  and so but it didnt seems to work

Thanks!

9 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Yohay,

What exactly is it that you're looking to do?

If you're just looking to create filters in the front end of the app. A super easy way to do this would be to create 3 filter panes on your sheet:

1. Floor(Date) ; this will return just the date field ex. 2018/4/30
  2. Week(Date) ; this will return the week which the date is in
  3. Year(Date) ; this will return the year

And then the user looking at the app can simply select the year, week or date they wish to see.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Serina,

Thanks.

What Im looking for is to add a filter "Today" that will show data of today, "This month" will show data of the current month and "Year" (same logic)

I'm not sure if I can do this with the filter object or I will need to create a button (I dont know how to create an action button)

adj29block
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hello,
Your date format is DD / MM / YYYY hh: mn: ss

SET TimeFormat = 'h: mm: ss TT';
SET DateFormat = 'M / D / YYYY';
SET TimestampFormat = 'M / D / YYYY h: mm: ss [.fff] TT';
SET MonthNames = 'Jan; Feb; Mar; Apr; May; Jun; Jul; Aug; Sep; Oct; Nov; Dec';
SET DayNames = 'Mon; Tue; Wed; Thu; Fri; Sat; Sun';

If your date field starts in 2016 you have to create MinDate and MaxDate
with Makedate
Example