Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Display data depending of the year

Hello everyone,

I am using Qlik Sense Desktop and I have a Graph that display data trend from last year to date.

The problem is I would like to have 2 Graphs one on top of each others and comparing Jan 2015 with Jan 2016, Feb 2015 with Feb 2016 and so on... I don't want a dual column comparison.

When I click on my first Graph, I am using the Edit Expression where I will put my function there but after trying many different things, I am starting to have white hair Keep in mind that I am new to Qlik.

Any help will be really appreciated!

Eric

12 Replies
reddy-s
Master II
Master II

Hi Eric,

This is absolutely possible, but not by overlapping visualizations.

When you say year to date you have the months and dates as a common dimension. So you will be able to plot two lines using 3 different measures on the line chart.

Make use of yeartodate() function in the master calendar and set analysis to achieve this.

Thanks,

Sangram.

Not applicable
Author

Yes this is correct, I have one column with the day, Month and year in it (ex: 2/14/2016)

So what you are saying I will need to display the comparison in the same graph with 2 columns depending of the year so lets say Red for 2015 and blue for 2016, is that correct?

I am curious on how this is possible to do even if I use yeartodate() function

Eric

reddy-s
Master II
Master II

Hi Eric,

Check this out first about the master calendar. You can set flags for all the date ranges you need using this. This simplifies your calculations in hte front end and also improves performance.

Creating A Master Calendar

Once done you can use those flag to plot a line chart something like this:

Capture.PNG

Thanks and Regards,

Sangram Reddy.

Not applicable
Author