Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Drill down and grouping dimensions

Good afternoon,

I'm relatively new to Qlik and by watching the demos and mto‌'s videos I've been able to create some dashboards. I'm playing with the drill down and grouping dimensions and was wondering if they can be used combined in the same chart?

Using the cars data set of the grouping video, I'd like to create a bar chart starting with a grouped dimension called manufacturer (using the wildmatch command), and drill down to the specific name of the car. I was able to create both grouping and drill down dimensions but when creating the chart, I can not find the grouping dimension on the options displayed, only the original dimensions of the data set.

I'd appreciate if someone can help me with this.

Regards.

Luis

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Lech_Miszkiewicz
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi,

Just do following:

Create Drill down by adding:

• first dimension - Country
  • Second dimension (here click on fx icon (in line where you put name, right next to X icon) and enter there your long "if (Wildmatch ...)"  expression. Thath expression will replace Name field

• dd+ctry-mfg.JPG

see if this works

cheers

cheers Lech, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful to the problem.

View solution in original post

12 Replies
shraddha_g
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

In Chart,while selecting dimensions or measure at the start of the list you will find Master Items and then Original fields from tables.

Else You can drag your Dimension/Measure from Master Items Section(Left side Panel) and Select add as a Measure/Dimension.

Lech_Miszkiewicz
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP