cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Extremely long time to load data from Postgres

Hi there,

I'm totally new to QlikSense Desktop, so to try it out I've decided to add one of my smallest tables from my Postgres database, with 10M rows, with no joins or anything fancy at first.
Data load has been in progress for the last 4 hours.

Is this normal? Can it be I'm doing something wrong?

Looking forward to finding out what I can expect from this tool!

Bests,

Gal.

10 Replies
OmarBenSalem

Hell no !

Something surely went wrong; Qlik won't ever take that long for 10M rows ! It would take at most a few minutes (AT MOST)

Demlet
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hi Gal,

I have had QlikSense take over an hour to load 1M records from SalesForce using the auto generated script with no modifications. Depending on your data it can get hung up from what I have experienced. For example, I had a description field that that contains paragraphs of text, and QlikSense didn't seem to know what to do with it. The load would start and no text would appear and the timer would spin for hours. I commented out the field and it loaded normally.

Check what data your loading from Postgres, you might need to comment out some columns/fields to see if anything could be causing the lag.

Hope this helps

-Derek

marcus_sommer

Qlik has nothing to do with the query unless it transferred it to the database and received any output from there. If it's quite slow like in your case then it means that your database respectively this query is slow and/or the database-driver is not really suitable and/or the network to Qlik is slow.

- Marcus

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Thanks for your response! Any idea what it is that could be wrong?
I do have a JSONB column in that table. Could it be that?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Derek,

Thanks for your reply!