Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
psh
Contributor II
Contributor II

Filling a column by text string search in another column

Hello:

I am making a simple table and I want to create and fill a new column based on a text string search in a different column.

For example:

If you find "banana" anywhere in the text string in a field in column A, put "banana" in column B

ELSE

If you find "rutabaga" anywhere in the text string in a field in column A, put "rutabaga" in column B

ELSE

put "other" in column B

Unfortunately, I cannot depend on "banana" or "rutabaga" being in the same place in the text strings in column A (or even at all) so I can't just count characters from the beginning or end.

I'm brand new to Qlik Sense (three weeks!) so I hope I have explained myself clearly.

Thanks!

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Taoufiq_Zarra

I just re-tested it, it works in the editor.

Through :

=if(wildmatch(A,'*banana*','*rutabaga*')=0,'Other',pick(wildmatch(A,'*banana*','*rutabaga*'),'banana','rutabaga'))

Regards,

Regards,
Taoufiq ZARRA

"Please LIKE posts and "Accept as Solution" if the provided solution is helpful "

(you can mark up to 3 "solutions") 😉

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Taoufiq_Zarra

Hi,

if I have understood your need correctly

the line you'll need in your script is:

pick(Match( -1,(SubStringCount(A, 'banana')>0),SubStringCount(A, 'rutabaga')>0),'banana','rutabaga') as B,

for example on the example in load script :

Test:

Load pick(Match( -1,(SubStringCount(A, 'banana')>0),SubStringCount(A, 'rutabaga')>0),'banana','rutabaga') as B,* inline [
A
bla blba banana jhjh hjhjh
kljlhkh sdhhq test banana lksdjh
lkdhf fdkjfh gdh rutabaga jkskdj
kljhsd kjshqlkh 
];

the results are:

Capture.PNG

or

Capture.PNG

Regards,

Regards,
Taoufiq ZARRA

"Please LIKE posts and "Accept as Solution" if the provided solution is helpful "

psh
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author