Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to avoid an error if one field isn't found??

Hi, hope you can help me, I'm new to QlikSense and same goes for programming.

My process is as follow: Either I download at least 6 excel files from some database source or those files are sent to me, so I'm using the data load editor from QlikSense and I load some fields from each excel file, the problem is that each file contains a minimum of 60 headings with up to 800,000 records each (so 800,000 x 60 x 6 = 288,000,000 a very big number), so I analyzed the data and created a Script to just Load the specific fields to be used (instead of loading 60 headings, just load 30 or 28, that multiply per 800,000 multiply per 6 files, is a smaller number and easy to work with)  the problem is that not all fields are in the excel sheet, so every time I click "Load data"  and QlikSense never finds a field, an error occurs and prevents me from continuing , so I have to manually remove the field name from the script or include an empty field with the specified name in the Excel sheet. Example:

[Table 1]

LOAD

[Field 1],

[Field 2],

[Field i] as [Field J],

[Field 100]

FROM [lib://My_Connection_name/File_Name_1.xlsx]

(ooxml, embedded labels);

[Table 2]

LOAD

[Field 1],

[Field 2],

[Field q] as [Field R],

[Field 100]

FROM [lib://My_Connection_name/File_Name_2.xlsx]

(ooxml, embedded labels);

In this example, let's say the "File_Name_1" doesn't have "Field 2", QlikSense at this point will display an error and I will have to manually correct it like I explain before. Is there some way I can tell QlikSense that if the field isn't in the file (i.e."Field 2" from "File_Name_1") continue until loading the rest of the fields from the remaining files?

Later I tried:

[Table1]