Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tribhuwan
Contributor
Contributor

Linking 2 tables in Qlik Sense

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Qlik Sense and need your help.

I have 2 tables, in first table I have EMP_ID and EMP_Name and other details and in second table I have EMP_ID, EMP_Name, Departments, Manager_Name etc. Now I want to join these 2 tables so that I have the Departments, Manager_Name and other information for EMP_ID's in first table.

My first table has around 2k EMP_ID's and my second table has around 40k records.

So in my final table I only want data for these 2k records and not the entire data.

Please help me out

Labels (3)
3 Replies
klikgevoel
Contributor III
Contributor III

The question is a bit ambiguous but let's try figuring it out. So you want to reduce your data, according to the smallest table; the first one?

The question is, what data do you want to retain? The oldest or newest? I assume that the second table has a historic data, since > 2k of records. Second question that comes into mind, which table has the current data?

If that's the case you can apply a Left Join() and use LastValue() as an aggregation clause, followed by a Group By() on EMP_ID.

Example:

Table1:

LOAD

EMP_ID,

EMP_Name

FROM DataSource;

Left Join(Table1)

LOAD

EMP_ID,

LastValue(EMP_Name) As LastEMP_Name, //You can leave this one out if EMP_Name from Table1 suffices

LastValue(Manager_Name) As LastManager_Name

LastValue(Departments) As Departments

FROM DataSource

Group By(EMP_ID);

Tribhuwan
Contributor
Contributor
Author

Yes you are right in saying that I need details for only 2k accounts.

I think I have not explained it properly (apologies for same), my first data set is in excel and second one larger database is in SAP HANA which I am loading through SQL.