Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Load certain fields out of an Excel File

Hello

i'm new to Qlik Sense Desktop and i have a question:

Is it possible to load some certain data out of an Excel-File?

For example i have the following table in my Excel-File:

TestTest_1Test_2Data_1Data_2Country
12131512344321Ger
34567891112342US
73826358876166214332185Frau

I want to load all the fields that contain "Test" and "Data". So if there would be some more fields with these words i want to load them too.

Is that possible in Qlik Sense Desktop?

Greetings

6 Replies
dsharmaqv
Creator III
Creator III

Selecting data from a Microsoft Excel file

You can load from data from a selected Microsoft Excel file. When you have selected fields, you can insert the script code required to load the fields into the script.

See: How to prepare Excel files for loading with Qlik Sense  

To start selecting data, do the following:

1. Click ± on a Folder data connector in the data load editor.
  2. Select file from the drop-down list of available files in the folder and click Select.

Select data from is displayed and the list of Tables is populated with the sheets and named areas available in the selected Microsoft Excel file.You can also use a Microsoft Excel file as data source using the ODBC interface. In that case you need to use an ODBC data connection instead of a Folder data connection.

Selecting tables

The Tables list includes all sheets and named areas of the selected Microsoft Excel file.If you want to select all the fields in a table, do the following:

• Check the box next to the table name.

If you want to select specific fields from a table, do the following:

• Click the table name (not in the checkbox). Fields is updated with the available table content, and you can select the fields you require.