Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

One location dimension table with 2 fact tables?

Hi,

I am new to data modelling and Qlik. I have got to grips with how to work with it but am struggling to get data i have been given into the right model.

I have some data that comprises 2  simple fact tables (Sales , Estimated Demand). Both of these tables contains a Product_Id, Store_id and then a value.  The store_id is the link to a location dimension table for 4 stores A,B,C and D - each of which has a lat, long.

Small example for data/ columns names is:

Screenshot 2016-02-02 00.28.30.png

I want to load the data into a model so that both the sales and demand data is linked on the store_id.

ie. So that i can have a sheet with charts for both demand and supply such that I can select store_id and have the graphs for demand and sales both update for the selected stores - and subsequently also show the selected store locations on map.

However, I'm struggling to understand the right model to do this.

It would seem to mean that I should have BOTH the demand and sales fact tables linked to the store_location dimension table which I understand is not a correct thing to do.

Any suggestions would be very gratefully received.

TIA, Mike.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
brunobertels
Master
Master

Hi Mike

By my opinion i would let your table like that with 3 facts tables : sales , demand and location

I see that you have a week ending dimension for demand and day sales dimension in the sales table. I will add a Week dimension in both table so that you can merge sales and demand by store ID by week.

For demand :

demand:

Load

week(WEEK_ENDING) as week

PRODUCT_ID,

STORE_ID,

ESTIMATED_DEMAND

from ...

sales:

Load

week("DAY") as Week,

PRODUCT_ID,

STORE_ID,

TOTAL_SALES

from .....

load

STORE_ID,

STORE_DESCRIPTION,

geomakepoint( LATITUDE,LONGITUDE) as LOCATION

from ....