cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FlAsh92
Contributor III
Contributor III

Possible Date Format Issue in YTD

Hey guys, I'm new to Qlik Sense and currently trying to generate a YTD table.

Used guidance from the post below:

https://community.qlik.com/t5/QlikView-Documents/YTQ-QTD-MTD-and-WTD/ta-p/1489245

But the values that populate in the column do not match my data.

Just to give a brief, I inward the Oracle data through a SQL connector. The format of my date field is 'yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm:ss.ssss' and I've labelled it as T_Date. I also get the Year, Month and Day in separate columns which can be used in case the above date format is the issue.

In the Data Load Editor I used the script:

Floor(DateField) AS DateNum

I figured this code separates out the Date part only.

The I moved on to the YTD expression:

Sum({<[T_Date.autoCalendar.Year]=, [T_Date.autoCalendar.Month]=, [T_Date.autoCalendar.Quarter]=, [T_Date.autoCalendar.Week]=, [T_Date.autoCalendar.Date]=, DateNum={">=$(=Num(YearStart(Max(DateNum))))<=$(=Max(DateNum))"}>} T_Value)

I'm not sure if the above expression is right, because it displays the wrong summation value.

Also, I've not defined any specific variables for this.

Please help me and guide me on the issue.

Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sunny_talwar

Change your variables to the ones in the image and that seems to make them work

image.png

View solution in original post

13 Replies
isorinrusu
Partner - Creator III
Partner - Creator III

Hi,

The best way to check why that's not working is by separating the elements.

You should create a variable called vYearStartNum (for example) containing the calculation 

=Num(YearStart(Max(DateNum)))

And one for the max date (although maybe you don't need it if you're data is from the fact table, not containing future dates): vMaxDateNum 

=Max(DateNum)

So your expression would be: