Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Prevent tables from automatic association?

Hi everyone,

I'm still new to qlik sense and I was wondering if there is any built-in function or way to prevent tables from joining (or keeping) automatically (haven't found anything in the documentation). I mean it's a great function but sometimes it feels a bit enoying to allways rename columns just to stop qlik from joining them with some other table.

Not sure if it does matter, but I have worked only with excel spread sheets yet.

Best regards

Update: I did mean preventing tables from association not from joining or keeping!

Nachricht geändert durch Mathias Gude

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Gysbert_Wassenaar

Tables never join automatically. Do you mean preventing association? That can only be done by renaming fields. That's because the only way to associate tables is to give the fields that should be used for the associated the same name. You can use the QUALIFY keyword to prefix all the fields with the table name. That will make the field names unique and will prevent any associations. It will result in data island tables which are likely to cause horribly bad performance and hard to predict results.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand

View solution in original post

3 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

Tables never join automatically. Do you mean preventing association? That can only be done by renaming fields. That's because the only way to associate tables is to give the fields that should be used for the associated the same name. You can use the QUALIFY keyword to prefix all the fields with the table name. That will make the field names unique and will prevent any associations. It will result in data island tables which are likely to cause horribly bad performance and hard to predict results.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
Not applicable
Author

Hi Gysbert,