Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Querying dataset in qlik

I am relatively new to Qlik, but I have a question about querying data, and I think it may be impossible.

I have a list of a million...let's call them "accounts".  and in access I have this query that I wrote that brings that list down to 50,000.  Is there a way I can import this list of 50,000 records and have it query against my list of a million accounts in qlik in order to bring back 50,000 records in qlik?  The only think I see in qlik in order to query data is the list box.

Let me know your thoughts.  I appreciate any feedback.

7 Replies
ogster1974
Partner - Master II
Partner - Master II

Would be good if you posted a small subset of your data to illustrate your question.

Qlik will certainly handle your data volume and as long as you can associate the data in your 50k dataset with your 1m data set with a key then you can display your data in many chart types not just a list box.

rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Is this an on-demand kind of thing? That is, do you need to be able to generate the 50k list and quickly apply the filter in Qlik Sense?  Or is this more like a daily process that builds the 50k list that can be  loaded by the QS load script?

-Rob

Not applicable
Author

let me give a little more detail.  Let's say it's auto insurance, and I have a list of 1 million auto policies, but I only want to see the data in qlik for those autos who have had 2 accidents.  I run a query in access with my original data and find that only 50,000 of those million have had 2 accidents.

So now I want to go into qlik and be able to filter on those 50,000 policies.  Is there a way to do this?

Josh_Good
Employee
Employee

Hi Tom,