Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
william_fu
Creator II
Creator II

Referencing Measures in other Measures

Hello,

I'm very new to Qlik Sense (coming from a DAX background) and I keep trying to reference master item measures in other measures like I did in Powerpivot.

Can they not be reused? I'm rebuilding reports from scratch in Qlik Sense and I have a ton of measures that are derivative from others.

I've seen something on creating variables and referencing them as $(var).

While we're on the topic, are there any resources explaining the proper syntax for Qlik Sense expressions? I'm having trouble with all the $<{ symbols and the "Error in expression" flag within the editor doesn't really help.

Currently on the September 2017 version.

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi WIlliam,

to summarize what others mentioned here:

- Unfortunately, Master Items cannot be referenced directly in other Master Items. This would be a nice feature, but it's not currently there.

- What most professionals do to overcome this problem, is store various formulas in variables and then use the variable in the definition of the Master Items. Multiple variables can be combined in expressions. For example:

Variables:

exp_Sales = 'sum(Sales)'

exp_Cost = 'sum(Cost)'

Master Item Definitions:

Total Sales = $(exp_Sales)

Total Cost = $(exp_Cost)

Margin % = ($(exp_Sales) - $(exp_Cost)) /$(exp_Cost)

-  While you may manage your variables manually, using the little variable overview "x=", it's more robust if you store your formulas in an external text file and load them during the data load, generating the variables during the load. This way, you can share these definitions across multiple apps, and maintain them in one central place.