Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Remove/add rows based on the value of a variable

I have a dimension (let's call it dim1) with three values: A, B, and C. There's a button which toggles the value of a variable (let's call the variable vButton) between 0 and 1. This is what I'd like to happen. When vButton is 0, all charts will reflect only the rows associated with A and B in dim1 (as if the rows associated with C didn't exist). When vButton is 1, all rows in the dataset (including the ones associated with C) will be used to populate the chart. Essentially, based on the value of vButton, some rows will be temporarily removed or added back.

I'm new to Qlik and I'm puzzled as to why this seems so difficult to do. I tried set expressions, but that seems to be chart specific. I could probably write set expressions for each chart, but that sounds unnecessarily complicated. How should I go about solving this? Thanks a lot in advance.

8 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

Instead of a Set Variable action you can use a Toggle Select action and directly toggle the selection of the value C in the field. This is easier than using a variable. But perhaps you want to apply this selection only to one chart. In that case using a variable makes sense. You can use a calculated dimension: =if( $(vButton) =1, if(dim1<>'C' ,dim1), dim1).

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
marcus_sommer

If you want to avoid hard-coded conditions within the expressions for all these objects you will need to add your logic within the datamodel. This meant to create a flag-field from 0 or 1 to your data which then could be queried within the expressions per set analysis like:

sum({ < Flag = {">=$(vButton)"}>} YourValue)